I'm Shopping For        Search
     
     
 
Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View.

Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. Reviews

828HHS  |  828
Add Alert For Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View.
Get Price
Drop Alerts
Add Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. to My List (s)
Add to
My List
Send Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. to a Friend
Send To
Friend
 
$403 - $418 (3 stores)
N/A out of 5.0   
         
Rate This Product
 
COMPARE PRICES
REVIEWS
 
 
My current favorite binoculars
 
I've had these binoculars for over one year. I use them mainly for birding. My previous binoculars were my almost 25 year old Leitz Trinovid 10x40's. The Trinovids were excellent binoculars in their day but they are definitely getting long in the tooth. I'll keep them because, let's face it, I'll never be able to afford the current Leica binoculars.I tried several brands before settling on the Swift Audubon roof prisms. What I found was that some binoculars excel in some areas but fall shor...

Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. review by A photographer can be read at Amazon.Com
 
A photographer
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 12/23/2008
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
100% (27 of 27) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Look no further!
 
I have worked on microscopes as part of my career as a geologist. Because of this I have gotten quite particular about optical equipment quality. But I'm also thrifty enough to realize that although the $1K-level binculars as offered by Zeiss, Leitz, Swarovski are absolutely top shelf...I'm not trying to find a bighorn sheep a mile away in between glacial crags...I'm doing local birding and deer hunting within 300 yards. So I spent many hours researching the various price/quality levels..on the ...

Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. review by T. Laubenthal can be read at Amazon.Com
 
T. Laubenthal
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 01/02/2009
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
100% (21 of 21) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Fine optics at an affordable price
 
The Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobons are fine birding binoculars at an affordable price. They offer a clear, sharp image without going to the price extremes of the three big brands. They are easy to use, although the focus wheel could be larger for easier use. The rubber armoring gives them a solid feel in the hand without being excessively heavy. The 8.5 magnification is just right for birding. It is not so big that it becomes hard to hold the image steady as is the case with 10s for me. The 4...

Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. review by Dr. DH Bennett "Tampopo" can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Dr. DH Bennett "Tampopo"
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 01/01/2008
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
100% (21 of 21) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Quality optics made in Japan
 
General Impressions:I've used these binoculars for nearly two years in the field and for use as a student in two birding classes. I carry them on hikes for a closer look at birds I'm trying to photograph. Even after several months of regular use these field glasses continue to offer firm and precise adjustments and have held up well. As far as I can tell, they are no different than the day I received them from Amazon in 2009.Adjustments:Rotating eye cups adjustments for use with or without your...

Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. review by J. Ray can be read at Amazon.Com
 
J. Ray
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 11/30/2011
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
100% (15 of 15) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Swift Audubon HHS exceedingly clear image
 
I did some research and ordered three top-rated binoculars, 8 x 42, in the $300 range. Spent an hour or so outdoors with all three pairs. The Swift Audubon HHS had much crisper and brighter image than either the Nikon Monarch or the Eagle Optics Ranger 8 x 42. As with all things, there are some trade-offs. The Nikon and Eagle models were a few ounces lighter, enough to make a difference in comfort. Both models also have a much closer focus. The Audubon only focusses down to about 9 ft. I really...

Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. review by Vicki D. Dern can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Vicki D. Dern
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 10/19/2007
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
95% (23 of 24) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Excellent binoculars for the money
 
The swift audubon 8.5x44 porro prism has always been considered an excellent binocular for the money. This is a roof prism version of the same. These still live up the the reputation that the other audubons have established. While not quite as good as the other 8.5x roof prism, these are hard to beat especially when you factor in the cost of them. If you are in the market for a pair of binoculars in this price range definately give these a look.

Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. review by Chris can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Chris
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 08/29/2006
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
70% (7 of 10) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
comparable to the best for less!
 
I've had these for a few years now. I bought them because we were going on a trip to the amazon and the galapagos islands. They have totally spoiled me for most other optics. They have a sharp bright image, and are a delight to look through. They are a bit heavy, but anything as big as an 8.5 x 44 will be heavy. They are not as good as the big 3, but they are comparable, and don't cost $800+

Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. review by P. D. Lewis "Sir Dave" can be read at Amazon.Com
 
P. D. Lewis "Sir Dave"
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 01/07/2011
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
100% (8 of 8) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Sharp image even in lower light situations
 
IMO it's the best roof prism pair of binoculars you can get under $500. My one and only complaint is the screw type eye relief tubes can't be locked in position except all the in or out.

Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. review by M. Thurmond can be read at Amazon.Com
 
M. Thurmond
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 09/16/2008
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
100% (7 of 7) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Best Value
 
I own 6 pairs of binoculars and, for the money, these are the best. Ligtweight, bright, sharp. I particularly like the LEFT eye dipoter adjustment.

Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. review by H. B. Estabrooks Jr. can be read at Amazon.Com
 
H. B. Estabrooks Jr.
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/29/2007
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
66% (6 of 9) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Perfect Birding Binos
 
After buying my wife, an amateur birder, the 828 as a gift, I became very jealous and bought one for me. They are absolutely great for birding. Swift has a great reputation in optics, especially microscopes, so the technology is there. It's waterproof and fogproof (nitrogen purged), two things I was looking for. The diopter locks in place, so you don't need to keep adjusting it (unless you lend your binos to someone else). It adjusts to eyeglass wearers, as well. The roof prism provides for a mo...

Swift Sport Optics 828 Swift 8.5 x 44 HHS Audobon, Water Proof & Rubber Armoured Roof Prism Binocular with 6.4 Degree Angle of View. review by GaryS can be read at Amazon.Com
 
GaryS
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 06/09/2012
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
100% (6 of 6) Users Found This Review Helpful
Reviews 1 - 10 Displayed of  18 Total
 2  Next ›
     
 
 
ter