I'm Shopping For        Search
     
     
 
Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable

Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable Reviews

RDR-VX535  |  RDRVX535
Add Alert For Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable
Get Price
Drop Alerts
Add Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable to My List (s)
Add to
My List
Send Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable to a Friend
Send To
Friend
 
No Stores Found.
Please check again later.
N/A out of 5.0   
         
Rate This Product
 
COMPARE PRICES
REVIEWS
 
 
Remarkably easy to set up use copy functions
 
I needed a DVD player for my second TV. I really love my Oppo DVD player and was thinking of getting another for my second TV, but I saw the Sony RDR-VX535 Player at Costco and looked at the features and decided to try it out.It took less than 5 minutes to set it up and figure out how to copy tapes to DVDs, the main reason I got the Sony instead of another Oppo. It does a great job copying and with the up scaling feature the visual quality of the dvd copied from the tape is better th...

Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable review by Joe Stalin can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Joe Stalin
 Rated It 
4.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 02/08/2009
User Location: New Mexico
Review From: User Review
 
100% (32 of 32) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Frustrating machine
 
I bought this product hoping to transfer some VHS tapes to DVD. But the machine wouldn't allow me to do this. When I pushed the one touch dubbing button, nothing would happen. I got Sony technical support on the line and they agreed it was defective. The seller was nice enough to exchange it for another one, but the second one didn't work either. Once again, I called Sony technical support and after walking me through a few steps over the phone and determining that I wasn't doing something wrong...

Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable review by Richard A. Severn "Rick Severn can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Richard A. Severn "Rick Severn
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 08/01/2009
User Location: Valencia, CA
Review From: User Review
 
100% (14 of 14) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Will not copy VHS to DVD
 
I purchased this recorder to archive my old VHS tapes and recommended by Sony. I have been able to make DVD's from material stored in the cable box; very easy. The problem I have is that it won't copy my old VHS tapes to DVD; it claims they are copy protected. These are not movies or purchased tapes that might be copy protected. They are a mixture of items saved from TV broadcasts, files transferred from VHS recorders, and some tapes that came with merchandise.I have called Sony a...

Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable review by John Bolstad can be read at Amazon.Com
 
John Bolstad
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 03/25/2009
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
96% (92 of 95) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Much better than Panasonic DMR - ES46V
 
I owned a Panasonic VHS/DVD recorder for nearly two years with very few problems. The upscaling of VHS and standard DVD's was ok with the HDMI cable and some standard def dvd's looked a little jaggy, but overall, it played DVD's/ VHS tapes fine.However, recording from VHS to DVD - what a nightmare!! First, when I inserted a DVD -R , the machine froze and it took several hours to finally remove the DVD; after that, it wouldn't play ANY dvd's - previously recorded, commercial, anything. Aft...

Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable review by Mark "markyy3" can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Mark "markyy3"
 Rated It 
4.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 01/24/2009
User Location: USA
Review From: User Review
 
94% (72 of 76) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Do not buy...
 
We purchased this unit from Costco and returned it two days later. The unit pauses intermittently and sometimes freezes altogether while playing DVD's. Never got a chance to try the recording features, but if the thing won't play DVD's who cares. Sounds like a number of others have experienced the same thing. I would pass on this one.

Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable review by Chris can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Chris
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 06/27/2009
User Location: Reno, NV
Review From: User Review
 
94% (17 of 18) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
BAD PRODUCT, FREEZES DURING PLAY BACK, NO FIX
 
Unfortunately, I own two of thse units. They both have the same problem. The unit freezes while playing commercial DVDs that play perfectly on other players including other Sony models. Sony is aware of the problem with the 500 series (check the Sony website), AND SONY CUSTOMER SERVICE HAS SAID SONY DOES NOT HAVE A FIX. The reality is this: If you buy this unit, the Sony warrenty is WORTHLESS because they can not fix the unit and cannot offer any remedy. Hopefully you will discover this flaw in ...

Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable review by Bob can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Bob
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 04/01/2009
User Location: Georgia
Review From: User Review
 
87% (29 of 33) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
It's a lemon!
 
I've owned this product for 3 months. It worked fine initially, now it rejects all DVD's. If I can get it to load a DVD, it freezes or stops automatically. Do not make the mistake I made by purchasing this item!

Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable review by L. Cradlin "N&HMOM" can be read at Amazon.Com
 
L. Cradlin "N&HMOM"
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/26/2009
User Location: Chevy Chase, MD United States
Review From: User Review
 
87% (14 of 16) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Sony RDR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo
 
Have had my unit for a few weeks not and it has exceeded all of my expectations. I'm a Sony fan anyway, and this is just more affirmation for me. This was the only such combo player I could find at an affordable price - apparently they aren't offered by most other companies.

Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable review by Sheryl Brock "Sherry Brock" can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Sheryl Brock "Sherry Brock"
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 08/12/2008
User Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Review From: User Review
 
84% (28 of 33) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Great if you don't want to back up protected media
 
Picked up the unit, hooked it up in <3 minutes. Simple dub button right on the middle of the unit. Unit DOES NOT let you copy "protected material" Does decent job of "upscaling". HDMI cable included is a device connector NOT HDMI to RGB.

Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable review by C. Zielny can be read at Amazon.Com
 
C. Zielny
 Rated It 
3.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 08/03/2008
User Location: Away
Review From: User Review
 
72% (26 of 36) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Don't Waste Your Money
 
This is a piece of junk. The first player sent to me had to be returned at my expense ($32) because the VHS player made a loud, grinding noise while playing tapes. I have a 46" Sony Bravia full HD TV. I used the supplied HDMI cable to connect my TV to the player. The upscaling on the DVD/VHS player is a joke, non-existent. The picture for DVDs is not as good as my old Sony combo DVD/VHS player. The picture from playing VHS tapes on the new machine is terrible. The picture received from the satel...

Sony RDRVX535 DR-VX535 DVD Recorder & VCR Combo Player with 1080p HDMI Upscaling and Bonus HDMI Cable review by Dewitt Black can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Dewitt Black
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 01/23/2009
User Location: Hamilton, VA USA
Review From: User Review
 
67% (19 of 28) Users Found This Review Helpful
Reviews 1 - 10 Displayed of  42 Total
 2   3   4   5  Next › Last »
     
 
 
ter