I'm Shopping For        Search
     
     
 
Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR

Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR Reviews

UBPX800M2
Add Alert For Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR
Get Price
Drop Alerts
Add Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR to My List (s)
Add to
My List
Send Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR to a Friend
Send To
Friend
 
$248 - $300 (26 stores)
N/A out of 5.0   
         
Rate This Product
 
COMPARE PRICES
REVIEWS
 
 
Needs an update
 
Splendid look and excellent build quality. Very good picture and sound from BD and Netflix. However there are three problems: 1) Dolby Vision doesn't activate automatically. Must be turned off manually each time you are watching a non DV movie. 2) Does not support Dolby Digital Plus (eac3 codec) when watching movies through USB hard disc. 3) Moving through the Netflix menu is very slow compared to my LG TV or laptop. I hope Sony solve these issues with a firmware update.

Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR review by OctavioM can be read at Walmart
 
OctavioM
 Rated It 
3.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/22/2019
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (16 of 16) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Needs an update
 
Splendid look and excellent build quality. Very good picture and sound from BD and Netflix.However there are three problems:1) Dolby Vision doesn't activate automatically. Must be turned off manually each time you are watching a non DV movie.2) Does not support Dolby Digital Plus (eac3 codec) when watching movies through USB hard disc.3) Moving through the Netflix menu is very slow compared to my LG TV or laptop.I hope Sony solve these issues with a firmware update.

Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR review by OctavioM can be read at World Wide Stereo
 
OctavioM
 Rated It 
3.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/22/2019
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (16 of 16) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Sony X800M2 -- Poor Dolby Vision implementation
 
Sony's implementation of Dolby Vision on this player is terrible. Requiring manual switching to/from Dolby Vision, and outputting everything in DV when switched on, creates an extremely cumbersome interface. I own the original X800, but returned the X800M2 and bought a Panasonic UB820 due to this poor implementation. Every other manufacturer automatically senses if a Dolby Vision signal is present and turns the processing on automatically, and then turns it off again afterwards.

Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR review by Scott62 can be read at Walmart
 
Scott62
 Rated It 
2.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/24/2019
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (13 of 13) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Sony X800M2 -- Poor Dolby Vision implementation
 
Sony's implementation of Dolby Vision on this player is terrible. Requiring manual switching to/from Dolby Vision, and outputting everything in DV when switched on, creates an extremely cumbersome interface. I own the original X800, but returned the X800M2 and bought a Panasonic UB820 due to this poor implementation. Every other manufacturer automatically senses if a Dolby Vision signal is present and turns the processing on automatically, and then turns it off again afterwards.

Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR review by Scott62 can be read at World Wide Stereo
 
Scott62
 Rated It 
2.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/24/2019
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (12 of 12) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
No Auto Dolby Vision detection or Vudu app
 
This is a great 4K player but missing Dolby Vision auto detection and a 4K DV Vudu app makes this player barely better than my previous UBP-X800.....Sony needs a firmware update to add these two items as well as throwing in atmos for netflix and vudu if added, then this player would be a solid 5 stars.

Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR review by Pete UCF can be read at Walmart
 
Pete UCF
 Rated It 
3.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/24/2019
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (10 of 10) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Worthless
 
How can Sony mass produce a third gen 4K player that doesn't automatically detect Dolby Vision. Don't waste your money. I sent mine back.

Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR review by Unhappy32 can be read at Walmart
 
Unhappy32
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/23/2019
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
95% (21 of 22) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Worthless
 
How can Sony mass produce a third gen 4K player that doesn’t automatically detect Dolby Vision. Don’t waste your money. I sent mine back.

Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR review by Unhappy32 can be read at World Wide Stereo
 
Unhappy32
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/23/2019
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
95% (21 of 22) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Great...except for some big flaws
 
I have waited months to get this machine and was very excited to set it up yesterday. I tested several movies and the picture quality was amazing all around. BUT, as has been mentioned by other reviewers, there is no automatic sensing of Dolby Vision content. You have to manually turn on/off DV accordingly. You then also have to know which movies are DV or not when you play them. What was more concerning for me was the fact that the player menu started flashing off to a black screen quite ...

Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR review by apearson can be read at Walmart
 
apearson
 Rated It 
3.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/15/2019
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
94% (17 of 18) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Good universal player - bad Dolby Vision function
 
This plays my SACDs and DVD-Audios well. The 4k Bluray HDR output looks really good. But the Dolby Vision on/off switch in the deep settings is bad. They player should switch to Dolby Vision when it is present like you can choose SACD two channel or multi-channel output. But to use Dolby Vision it's either ALWAYS on and all output is encoded by the player to map to it, or you'd have to start in Dolby Vision mode , insert a disc, wait for it to play, hit the INFO button to check if the d...

Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR review by thomasha can be read at Walmart
 
thomasha
 Rated It 
2.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/23/2019
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
93% (15 of 16) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Very Nice Player
 
I received this beauty yesterday. I was thinking of buying the $1,000 Panasonic UB9000 but ultimately could not justify the extra $$$. This player really looks sharp and the build quality is excellent (metal chassis that is solid with some weight to it unlike the plastic model it replaced)! Setup was easy and it looked for, and then updated the firmware as the first step in the setup process. To my surprise, the box came with two 4k movie titles (an added bonus to the already reasonably price). ...

Sony UBPX800M2 UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR review by Jerald can be read at Crutchfield
 
Jerald
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/14/2019
User Location: Bountiful, UT
Review From: User Review
 
93% (15 of 16) Users Found This Review Helpful
Reviews 1 - 10 Displayed of  535 Total
 2   3   4   5 
...
Next › Last »
     
 
 
ter