I'm Shopping For        Search
     
     
 
Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver

Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver Reviews

STRDH550  |  STR-DH550
Add Alert For Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver
Get Price
Drop Alerts
Add Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver to My List (s)
Add to
My List
Send Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver to a Friend
Send To
Friend
 
$178 - $250 (11 stores)
N/A out of 5.0   
         
Rate This Product
 
COMPARE PRICES
REVIEWS
 
 
Volume controls defective
 
Volume controls spin and blackout the tv. Defective product will be returned

Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver review by Nipper12 can be read at Best Buy
 
Nipper12
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 08/05/2016
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (22 of 22) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
short lived dvd audio
 
after only a few months the audio on the spoken voices on dvds dropped out and only the background could be heard. it was a big waist of time finding out which component was defective.

Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver review by greg can be read at Best Buy
 
greg
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 01/07/2018
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (21 of 21) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Poor performance.
 
Unit would not hold surround sound and subwoofer noise when powered down.

Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver review by BillBob can be read at Best Buy
 
BillBob
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 12/22/2017
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (20 of 20) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Be careful with specs!
 
I loved my former old Sony system so based on the described features, great reviews, and price, I chose this Sony receiver. Sadly, I am going to have to return it and upgrade because while it claims to be compatible with iPhones, this model only supports through iPhone 5s. I have a 7. Also it was not clear in the description that it is NOT HDCP 2.2 COMPATIBLE, and with most cable and streaming sevices, you (will eventually) need it! I also realized I really need Bluetooth in the receiver. Finall...

Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver review by MuzkMnFLL can be read at Best Buy
 
MuzkMnFLL
 Rated It 
2.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 01/21/2018
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (19 of 19) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
DVD Not Working
 
Got this unit for Xmas, overall a good system. One problem I am having is I cannot get my DVD unit to work with it. It's just straight HDMI from the DVD player to the reciever, changed the input and nothing. The DVD and cable function because It passes through correctly. Mike

Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver review by Mikey can be read at Best Buy
 
Mikey
 Rated It 
2.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 12/28/2017
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (19 of 19) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Plagued by 3 major flaws. Otherwise OK
 
For the price this has a great number of inputs/capabilities. However it had some major errors that forced me to return it: 1. While using HDMI out (99% of my use for this), adjusting the volume would black out the screen for 5-10 seconds. Spent a TON of time trying to troubleshoot and could not find a solve 2. Insanely complicated menu/features and the manual was zero help. I was constantly troubleshooting using random online forums. For example in my 5.1 system I noticed that no audio wa...

Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver review by Gopal can be read at Best Buy
 
Gopal
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 12/21/2017
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (19 of 19) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
horrible directions
 
Still do not understand how to program presents for FM. Cannot get the menu to appear on the TV. Speaker wire connections are cumbersome,too close together.

Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver review by Dad123 can be read at Best Buy
 
Dad123
 Rated It 
2.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 01/13/2018
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (18 of 18) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Good Sound but limited
 
Unit works great but has limited features. -No Bluetooth. Requires an adapter to work -USB port doesn't recognize Android devices -doesn't support 4K but is listed on box Same 5.2 level Yamaha unit has all of those features. Would recommend the Yamaha to get these basic features for the price. Unit is outdated and only good for a basic budget setup.

Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver review by Bestbuyer2017 can be read at Best Buy
 
Bestbuyer2017
 Rated It 
3.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 01/05/2018
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (18 of 18) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Lasted Only a Month
 
I purchased the tuner to replace an older tuner which did not have the connections I needed for a new hookup. The Sony tuner was on sale, a very good price for a low end tuner. Unfortunately, my old speakers blew out and at the same time blew out the tuner, which Best Buy accepted as partial payment for a higher priced replacement tuner.

Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver review by MaplewoodEd can be read at Best Buy
 
MaplewoodEd
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 01/24/2017
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (18 of 18) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Not impressed, even at $150
 
I returned this after having it for a couple weeks at most. The receiver shut off while being used a few times, lacked any sort of useful user interface, made really loud and concerning clicks when turning on and off (I've owned other recievers in the past that have not), as well as looks and feels poorly made.

Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver review by espressoman01 can be read at Best Buy
 
espressoman01
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 01/16/2017
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
100% (18 of 18) Users Found This Review Helpful
Reviews 1 - 10 Displayed of  5683 Total
 2   3   4   5 
...
Next › Last »
     
 
 
ter