I'm Shopping For        Search
     
     
 
Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability

Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability Reviews

01-SSC-5555  |  170
Add Alert For Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability
Get Price
Drop Alerts
Add Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability to My List (s)
Add to
My List
Send Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability to a Friend
Send To
Friend
 
$284 - $362 (4 stores)
N/A out of 5.0   
         
Rate This Product
 
COMPARE PRICES
REVIEWS
 
 
Fair review of SonicWall as a whole.
 
This review is from: SonicWall TZ 170 TZ170 10 Node VPN Firewall (01-SSC-5555) (Electronics) I have had 2 devices from SonicWall - what everyone MUST understand is the simple fact that these devices (all from SonicWall) are only supported for 1 year after purchase. What people get angry about is that these devices go bad - they are not like your VCR/DVD player that just work - and work reliable for years to come all the time. It is hit or miss.This means you MUS...

Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability review can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Anonymous
 Rated It 
3.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 11/03/2006
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
100% (7 of 7) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Excellent full featured firewall for a reasonable price
 
This review is from: SonicWall TZ 170 TZ170 10 Node VPN Firewall (01-SSC-5555) (Electronics) I have used SonicWall's various firewall products ever since their first SOHO firewall in both home and business settings. The TZ170 is an excellent firewall with very flexible settings and offers both software and box-to-box IPSec VPN capability. It DOES work with other firewall products including Cisco but interoperability can be spotty or require some knowledgeable setup.
Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability review can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Anonymous
 Rated It 
4.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 04/28/2007
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
100% (3 of 3) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Great product with minor flaws
 
This review is from: SonicWall TZ 170 TZ170 10 Node VPN Firewall (01-SSC-5555) (Electronics) This is an excellent product, especially the security services. I was amazed at the Gateway anti-virus, intrusion prevention, and spy ware filters because they inspect each packet so quickly, that there is no noticeable difference in internet speed. The content filter is very good also. Although there are a few mis-rated sites, for the most part, the list is very accurate. The SonicWA...

Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability review can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Anonymous
 Rated It 
4.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 08/08/2006
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
75% (3 of 4) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
No support
 
This review is from: SonicWall TZ 170 TZ170 10 Node VPN Firewall (01-SSC-5555) (Electronics) DO NOT EVER BUY PRODUCTS FROM sonicwall UNLESS YOU WORK FOR sonicwall IN TECH SUPPORTPurchase one of these with the 10 connection option $500 or so! Everything was great untill their VPN software renedered a few of my companies computers worthless. Since they don't appear to care once the hardware is sold, "BUYER BEWARE!!!"

Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability review can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Anonymous
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 06/12/2006
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
42% (3 of 7) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Phenomenal product
 
This review is from: SonicWall TZ 170 TZ170 10 Node VPN Firewall (01-SSC-5555) (Electronics) This product gets an A+, for ease of use and functionality.The customer service offered by Sonicwall was second to none.

Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability review can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Anonymous
 Rated It 
4.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 03/15/2007
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
0% (0 of 1) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
TZ170 crashes and poor VPN
 
This review is from: SonicWall TZ 170 TZ170 10 Node VPN Firewall (01-SSC-5555) (Electronics) My company purchased a TZ170 to replace a previous Sonicwall DMZ after taking adviced from SonicWall. The TZ170 frequently crashes and corrupts its firewall settings. Also, although SonicWall claim IPSec support they will only support their own Global VPN software client. If you have LinkSys, Cisco, or Dlink VPN hardware you are out of luck. So poor reliablilty and no support.

Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability review can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Anonymous
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 06/25/2005
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
0% (0 of 5) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Initial low price, but the extras are expensive
 
I bought this SonicWall to use as a VPN, however once I talked to SonicWall customer service I was told that in order to actually use this product as a VPN, I would need to buy a licence for each user. Also, if I wanted firmware updates, etc., past the 90 days, I'd need to buy that, too and renew the contract each year. Although the SonicWall works great once you've purchased all the add ons, there are better, lower cost solutions from other companies.

Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability review by Bret Essing can be read at Rakuten
 
Bret Essing
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 06/13/2007
User Location: Houston, TX
Review From: User Review
 
BEWARE of this product!
 
What a joke, these have a 1 year warranty but if you want firmware updates(which you need to keep current with attacks) you will have to pay Sonicwall an additional $125 for that support after 90 days. Keep looking at other brands, what was once a great company has turned into a bunch of vultures.

Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability review can be read at Rakuten
 
Anonymous
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 05/18/2007
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
Initial low price, but the extras are expensive
 
I bought this SonicWall to use as a VPN, however once I talked to SonicWall customer service I was told that in order to actually use this product as a VPN, I would need to buy a licence for each user. Also, if I wanted firmware updates, etc., past the 90 days, I'd need to buy that, too and renew the contract each year. Although the SonicWall works great once you've purchased all the add ons, there are better, lower cost solutions from other companies.

Sonicwall 170 Internet Security Appliance with 7 10/100BASE-TX Fast Ethernet ports, 1 5-Port LAN Switch 1 serial port, 64MB RAM, 8MB Flash RAM with VPN Capability review by Bret Essing can be read at Rakuten
 
Bret Essing
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 06/13/2007
User Location: Houston, TX
Review From: User Review
Reviews 1 - 9 Displayed of  9 Total
     
 
 
ter