I'm Shopping For        Search
     
     
 
Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up

Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up Reviews

FVS338
Add Alert For Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up
Get Price
Drop Alerts
Add Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up to My List (s)
Add to
My List
Send Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up to a Friend
Send To
Friend
 
$190 - $380 (3 stores)
N/A out of 5.0   
         
Rate This Product
 
COMPARE PRICES
REVIEWS
 
 
Great Router/Firewall
 
Very happy with the product. Took some time to get use to the menu. I like functionality of the firewall and router. Documentation is not easy to follow through. Technical support needs more experience. Over all I am happy with the product.

Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up review by Shawn Regimand can be read at Rakuten
 
Shawn Regimand
 Rated It 
4.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 04/28/2005
User Location: Bartlett, IL
Review From: User Review
 
100% (2 of 2) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Great Router/Firewall
 
Very happy with the product. Took some time to get use to the menu. I like functionality of the firewall and router. Documentation is not easy to follow through. Technical support needs more experience. Over all I am happy with the product.

Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up review by Shawn Regimand can be read at Rakuten
 
Shawn Regimand
 Rated It 
4.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 04/28/2005
User Location: Bartlett, IL
Review From: User Review
 
100% (2 of 2) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
I would buy this product again
 
I bought this firewall for a client that had an older, lower end netgear. The internet was running very slow. Installation was a snap and the internet has been running smooth for about a month now. Great for clients that do not want to spend the money for the high end devices like Cisco or Sonicwall.

Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up review by Scooter47 can be read at B&H Photo
 
Scooter47
 Rated It 
4.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 03/03/2009
User Location: Greenville, SC
Review From: User Review
 
100% (2 of 2) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Meets the Requirements of todays WAN
 
Using Comcast HiSpeed 22mbs connection. The Wan to LAN pushes 60 mbs LAN subnet. Pushes 30mbs LAN on FVS318 older routers connected via static route. Setup is very straight forward. Has all the same features plus a few more than the FVS 318. Both play in the sand box together well.Make sure you update the firmware to the latest version to avoid problems. The gigabit routers still have too many issues. The FVS 338 seems to be more stable for high profile networks.

Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up review by JT can be read at B&H Photo
 
JT
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 09/17/2010
User Location: Tucson, AZ
Review From: User Review
 
100% (1 of 1) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Do Not Buy This Item
 
My company, L3 Communications, purchsed 2 FVs338's through amazon to provide a VPN/Firewall to connect two locations via the open internet. Using a bench setup with the FVS338's connected through a hub, the VPN/firewall shut down after about 5 minutes, requiring me to power cycle both 338's to restart. A web search showed that others have encountered this and related problems. The NETGEAR web site suggests a command line procedure to change the timeout values. I did as suggested -- it had no eff...

Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up review by Amazon Customer can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Amazon Customer
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 02/05/2007
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
Support lacking
 
Overall the product is decent, handles load well. The main problem is getting support for the VPN portion. I have numerous calls in and have bounced around the support queue for some time. When I have a few hours free I will try again, until then...no VPN for me.

Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up review by Network Janitor can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Network Janitor
 Rated It 
2.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 01/03/2007
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
Actually meets advertised specifications!
 
I have several of the FVS338's in place. They keep up a stable VPN between several sites and are easy to configure.Problem is that I can't get the Netgear VPN client to work with it. (That is why I only gave it 4 stars). There are no updates for the client, and Netgear support is just plain incompetent in this area.The reason I gave this such high marks is the throughput is 10Mb +, the VPN is easy to set up between routers, it is stable and best of all.. THE PRICE IS R...

Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up review by Datajockeys can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Datajockeys
 Rated It 
4.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 04/02/2006
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
Crap
 
I would not buy this router. As I am on my second one from Netgear and it still having issues. This router will not stay up and it drops the internet connection every day. Please buy something else or you're be sorry like I am.

Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up review by Harry W. Smith Jr. can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Harry W. Smith Jr.
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 02/26/2006
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
good vpn router Latest firmware fixes most problems
 
I bought 2 of these for vpn tunnel between 2 offices, after updating to the june 2007 firmware everything worked like a charm. I share IP based phone system, Ip based camera system, and exchange servers between the two offices, the vpn works great between both offices. Everything works no problems. Maybe this model had problems before but it seems great to me now... Oh another thing I called up netgear support to help me setup the vpn and they practically setup my vpn on both ends by remote logi...

Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up review by Amazon Customer can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Amazon Customer
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 08/03/2007
User Location:
Review From: User Review
 
Have a growing business?
 
Do you have a growing business and are wondering how to enable those connections or handle your mobile sales force? Here's the answer.. Netgear's FVS338 firewall has all that you need without the high price and headaches of being a networking guru. Bundled with Netgear's Technical Support team and the intuitive WebUI, configuration set-up and management is relatively easy. Good performance in an easy-to-use interface. Avoid unnecessary firmware upgrades unless the upgrade addresses a specific pr...

Netgear FVS338 ProSafe VPN Firewall 50 w/8 Port 10/100 Switch and Dial Back-up review by Nomticus can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Nomticus
 Rated It 
4.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 09/24/2007
User Location:
Review From: User Review
Reviews 1 - 10 Displayed of  38 Total
 2   3   4  Next › Last »
     
 
 
ter