I'm Shopping For        Search
     
     
 
LG SP520 Network Media Player

LG SP520 Network Media Player Reviews

SP520
Add Alert For LG SP520 Network Media Player
Get Price
Drop Alerts
Add LG SP520 Network Media Player to My List (s)
Add to
My List
Send LG SP520 Network Media Player to a Friend
Send To
Friend
 
$45 - $130 (3 stores)
N/A out of 5.0   
         
Rate This Product
 
COMPARE PRICES
REVIEWS
 
 
Worst Network Media Player Ever
 
Purchased on 11/26/2012. Amazon Instant Video has been removed. CIFS network browsing is broken resulting in constant network errors. WiFi range is very poor. Less than 7 feet away with no obstructions to the router I can only manage 3 network bars. The device has a good assortment of features and except for the issues above the other features work fine. However, the problems I've mention are key features and without them the device has very little value to me.

LG SP520 Network Media Player review by Chuckwagon can be read at Abt Electronics
 
Chuckwagon
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 11/26/2012
User Location: United States
Review From: User Review
 
100% (9 of 9) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Do not buy unless using wired network
 
I purchased this unit on sale for 29.99 which seemed like a great bargain. However I could not see any wifi signal at all. Turned off all encryption just in case that was the problem. I moved the router to within 6 feet of the device and had only one bar of signal. I would take this back and get a refund were it not a 50 mile round-trip and 15% restocking fee. I have plenty of other wifi devices that receive good signal in the same room. I suspect the device would work fine wired. Firmware is th...

LG SP520 Network Media Player review by bootlooper can be read at Abt Electronics
 
bootlooper
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 09/02/2012
User Location: Texas, USA
Review From: User Review
 
75% (6 of 8) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Nice Product, But Disappointed
 
Performs well for the streams that are supported. Only supports one of the 2 major movie streamers. Unfortunately, the one that it does not support is the one that I bought it for. Hope they upgrade the device to support more movie streams. This product would be 5-star if it had both movie streams.

LG SP520 Network Media Player review by Jeepster48439 can be read at Abt Electronics
 
Jeepster48439
 Rated It 
2.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 11/30/2012
User Location: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Review From: User Review
 
100% (2 of 2) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Audio cutouts
 
This used to work OK and then I downloaded the latest software patch. The audio now consistently cuts out. The video is fine.

LG SP520 Network Media Player review by Anonymous can be read at Abt Electronics
 
Anonymous
 Rated It 
3.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 03/06/2013
User Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA
Review From: User Review
 
100% (1 of 1) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Worst Network Media Player Ever
 
Purchased on 11/26/2012. Amazon Instant Video has been removed. CIFS network browsing is broken resulting in constant network errors. WiFi range is very poor. Less than 7 feet away with no obstructions to the router I can only manage 3 network bars. The device has a good assortment of features and except for the issues above the other features work fine. However, the problems I've mention are key features and without them the device has very little value to me.

LG SP520 Network Media Player review by Chuckwagon can be read at Abt Electronics
 
Chuckwagon
 Rated It 
1.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 11/26/2012
User Location: United States
Review From: User Review
 
100% (1 of 1) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Great media player
 
I have been using this media player for about one month now. I connect my external portable hard drive(s) into the usb port on the media player, and I can watch saved tv shows. So far the media player can't player files in the vob format, but it does play files in the dvd MPEG2 format.

LG SP520 Network Media Player review by mistletoe can be read at Best Buy
 
mistletoe
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 09/27/2012
User Location: nv
Review From: User Review
 
100% (1 of 1) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
Great item for casual use
 
I have been using this product for months now and I didn't experience any problems with it. The only thing it does not read is AC3 audio files from movies. That's pretty much it. I always connect my 1TB external hdd here. Didn't have problem with the internet connection. Youtube & Netflix is great. Overall, this product is fair for its price. Thumbs up.

LG SP520 Network Media Player review by thePUPPETEER can be read at Abt Electronics
 
thePUPPETEER
 Rated It 
5.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 02/21/2013
User Location: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Review From: User Review
 
100% (1 of 1) Users Found This Review Helpful
 
No Browser
 
Does not have a web browser ! LG usually makes top of the line stuff, why didn't they add a web browser to this ?

LG SP520 Network Media Player review by JOHN can be read at Amazon.Com
 
JOHN
 Rated It 
2.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 02/09/2013
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
Perfect for upgrading my LG TV for NETFLIX WIFI
 
I would recommend this productSetting it up though was not very user friendly. Had to stumble through it to get to my goal of viewing NETFLIX movies.Occasional trouble with acknowledging the internet connection. Haven't determined yet it the secrete to get past trouble it to power the box down. And restarting it.In spite of the annoyances, since it is the only way to achieve an internet connection for an older model LG TV, I still recommend it.

LG SP520 Network Media Player review by JME can be read at Amazon.Com
 
JME
 Rated It 
4.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 03/29/2013
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
 
VERDICT STILL OUT ON WHETHER I LIKE THE BOX
 
I don't have cable and recently purchased a new LG TV so that I could attach my computer to watch programs via WiFi. Then, I learned from LG that this box was available. I bought one here on Amazon. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE CONCEPT OF THE BOX. I just wish it would work longer than a few days. Hurry Bargains, the Amazon company that sold the box, were great to work with. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! They worked with me to replace the box and sent me a new one.The second one also worked great when I hooke...

LG SP520 Network Media Player review by Tonya C. King can be read at Amazon.Com
 
Tonya C. King
 Rated It 
2.0 out of 5.0   
         
 
Review Date: 07/30/2013
User Location: N/A
Review From: User Review
Reviews 1 - 10 Displayed of  88 Total
 2   3   4   5 
...
Next › Last »
     
 
 
ter